Sunday, November 7, 2010

Blend III

It is about that time to deliver a new mix from Dj Glamjack.  The blend series have been one of the  most popular ones on this site so here is the third installment for your listening pleasure.   Most of the songs are all stand along making it challenging to create a cohesive "blend".   The songs featured comprise an eclectic mix of old, new, local and international flavors.  The mix comprises of artists that has been exciting  and stimulating my ears as of recently and yes, a lot of them happen to be from the '80s and of course the '70s.  Crue-L Grand Orchestra who could have easily been from the '70s jump start this mix and specially blended with Maximum Joy's classic "Silent Street" whom is evident they took the sample from for their "Cynmopeide No. 1" lullaby of a song.  Followed by an amazing band recently discovered called Dan Boadi and the African Internationals performing a simple yet satisfying number about the evils of money.  Then the drama gets even more intense with Lalo Schifrin's disco rendition of the theme of Jaws. Followed by an interesting song by recently discovered rare and brilliant find from an '80s German band called Oppenheimer Analysis singing about "The Devil's Dancers". Lalo Schifrin resurfaces here with a stunning song called "Dragonfly" exploring a playful 70's spirit with a Van McCoy classic "Party".  One of my favorite songs from the '80s gets revisited here with an extended mix of "Promises, Promises" from Naked Eyes followed by Section 25's  sweet "Inspiration".  The mix moves along to 2010 with a gorgeous song from  Hercules Love Affair's own  Kim Ann Foxman called "Creature" which recalls an amazing late '80s house song from Project 86 called "Legends".  This mix concludes with a great song from 1976 from Tommy Stewart's self-titled LP called "Fulton County Line" blending into an 1982 classic from Junior "Mama Used To Say".  If there is a theme on this mix, it could be that of self-reflection, associations, inspiration and metaphor.  Hope you enjoy it!

Blend III -  Dj Glamjack - A Dj Glamjack Mix

Track Listing:

  1.  Cynmopeide No. 1 - Crue- L Grand Orchestra
  2.  Silent Street/Silent Dub - Maximum Joy
  3.  Money is the Root of Evil - Dan Boadi and the African Internationals
  4.  Jaws - Lalo Schifrin
  5.  The Devil's Dancers - Oppenheimer Analysis
  6.  Dragonfly - Lalo Schifrin
  7.  Party - Van McCoy
  8.  Promises, Promises (Extended Version) - Naked Eyes
  9.  Inspiration - Section 25
10. Creature - Kim Ann Foxman
11. Legends - Project 86
12. Fulton County Line - Tommy Stewart
13, Mama Used To Say - Junior

No comments:

Post a Comment